Bettiol, Van Asbroeck key riders in Brabantse Pijl

    Cannondale-Drapac will bring a seven-rider squad to Brabantse Pijl, the in-between race that connects the cobbled classics with the Ardennes.

    Of the team, Alberto Bettiol and Tom Van Asbroeck have raced most of the team’s spring campaign. Sport director Ken Vanmarcke is taps the duo as Cannondale-Drapac’s most likely contenders.

    “Alberto has potential in this race and Tom is also still in peak shape. Both should be able to do well in this race. I think this course specifically suits Alberto very well,” Vanmarcke said.

    But as Cannondale-Drapac has shown in the cobbled classics, there are multiple options within the team if plans on the road need to change.

    “We have several riders who I hope will join the fight and color the race,” Vanmarcke said. “As long as we ride as a team and animate the race until the line, I will be satisifed.”

    RESOURCES

    Visit the official Brabantse Pijl website.
    Find Brabanste Pijl race results here.
    Follow @DeBrabantsePijl, the official Brabantse Pijl Twitter account
    Use #BP or #BrabantsePijl to follow the race live on Twitter.
    De Brabantse Pijl starts in Leuven at 12:30pm CET (4:30am MDT) and is expected to finish around 5:30pm CET (9:30am MDT). The live broadcast is expected to begin on Sporza at 3.15pm (7:15am MDT) and fifteen minutes later on Eurosport.

    Cannondale-Drapac for Brabantse Pijl:
    Alberto Bettiol (ITA)
    Brendan Canty (AUS)
    Simon Clarke (AUS)
    William Clarke (AUS)
    Alex Howes (USA)
    Toms Skujins (LAT)
    Tom Van Asbroeck (BEL)